About The JCJC Foundation, Inc.

Chartered in May, 1988, the Jones County Junior College Foundation, Inc. is a non-profit corporation designed to accept tax-deductible gifts and bequests of cash, real estate, equipment, securities, life insurance, and other property. All gifts are used to enhance the high quality of education offered at Jones College.

The Foundation provides to Jones students, especially those of our eight county district of Clarke, Covington, Greene, Jasper, Jones, Perry, Smith, and Wayne, with a variety of ways of assistance, most notably freshman and sophomore scholarships totalling over $400,000,00 per academic year. 

Through the years, donor contributions have been directed to help fund projects such as the building of Foote Chapel, the Ronald E. Whitehead Advanced Technology Center, the Neill-Cooper Arbor, the Football Field Scoreboard, Anderson Hall and the Soccer Complex.  Also funded are the Faculty Enrichment Grants and the Employee Recognition Program. Donations, including gifts-in-kind, have also been directed to support funds for just about every department on campus, including Automotive, Heating & Air Conditioning, Athletics, Nursing, Horticulture, SkillsUSA, Welding, Machining, Child Care and Fine Arts.

Foundation Board Members

Foundation Magazine


Foundation History

As a way to honor his mother and her family, Jones County Junior College alumnus from Waynesboro, Oliver G. Brown IV gave a substantial amount of money to the college in 1984 to establish a scholarship to honor his mother, Marion Dyess Gambrel and his aunts, Myrtle Dyess Mills and Annie G. Dyess, all educators. Mr. Brown’s gift was a catalyst and inspiration to the college and community leaders to establish the Jones County Junior College Foundation. 

A painting of the Dyess sisters with Jones President, Dr. Terrell Tisdale hangs in the Jones Foundation Office on the 3rd floor of Jones Hall. Commissioned to commemorate the establishment of The Foundation, the plaque on the picture reads, “Founding Board of Governors, Dyess Educational Endowment Fund.” This first scholarship endowment has grown to over 550 scholarships awarded during the academic school year totaling almost $400,000.

Community leaders, college administrators and the Foundation Board continue to work together to build a strong junior college foundation that maximizes fundraising efforts and effectively manages the endowed funds over the long term.

Foundation Officers

  • Robin J. Robinson, President
  • Paul Culliver, Vice President
  • Thomas M. Thames III, Secretary/Treasurer

Foundation Board Members

  • S. S. “Buck” Anderson, Jr.
  • Joel Cain
  • Anita Shawn Crowder
  • Joel Dunagin
  • Mike Evans
  • Joseph D. Fail
  • Wayne Folkes
  • David Garner
  • Jerome Harless
  • Billy W. Howard
  • Donald Jordan
  • Jeff Keeton
  • Chrissy M. Leggett
  • Jennifer McDonald
  • Margaret Ann Pickering
  • Joe D. Robison, Jr.
  • Jesse R. Smith
  • Ann Tucker
  • D. L. “Rick” Youngblood

Advisory Board Members

  • Judge Shannon Clark
  • Barbara Sauls
  • Robert Sullivan