Jones College COVID-19 Operational Guidelines
Jones College

Jones College Profile

Operational Initiatives

  1.  Improve the implementation of the complete cycle of the comprehensive evaluation process of all programs, services, and general education core
  2. Enhance the teaching and learning environment
  3. Provide educational support services to meet the needs of students and educational programs
  4. Maximize the use of revenue from all available sources to financially support college programs and services
  5.  Enhance JC’s appeal to the communities of interest via operational management and marketing

Historical Sketch

In 1922, the Mississippi Legislature authorized the inclusion of college courses in agricultural high schools. In response to the needs of students in Jones County, the Jones County Agricultural High School (founded in 1911) Board of Trustees in 1927 adopted a resolution to “hereafter be known as Jones County Agricultural High School and Junior College.” The first 26 college students began their instruction in September 1927. The junior college district soon expanded to include seven additional counties: Clarke, Covington, Greene, Jasper, Perry, Smith, and Wayne. In 1957, Jones County Agricultural High School was separated from the junior college because of the reorganization plan for the public schools of the State of Mississippi.


Jones College

Ellisville, the home of Jones County Junior College, is a city of approximately 4,567 residents (2016 estimates). Ellisville is located just off Interstate 59, eight miles south of Laurel and 20 miles north of Hattiesburg, about 100 miles north of the Gulf of Mexico in the southeastern portion of the State.

The climate is inviting, environmental conditions are good, and an excellent spirit of cooperation exists between the citizens of the community and the College.

Additionally, the College offers credit and non-credit classes at four learning centers within its eight-county district. They are the Clarke County Learning Center located in Stonewall, Greene County Learning Center located in Leakesville, the Jasper County Learning Center located in Bay Springs, and the Wayne County Learning Center located in Waynesboro.


During its history, Jones County Junior College has been led by five presidents including the current president, Dr. Jesse R. Smith, who assumed leadership in July 2006. The College is governed by a 20-member Board of Trustees.

President’s Executive Cabinet: President, Executive Vice President of Business and Instructional Affairs, Executive Vice President of Enrollment, Information Technology and Marketing.


The teaching faculty is integral to the health and educational productivity of Jones County Junior College. Primarily concerned with instruction aimed at the needs of individual students, instructors attend professional meetings, workshops and seminars, as well as enroll in graduate courses on a periodic basis in order to remain current with new methods and thought in their educational fields.

Profile by highest degree (N=179): Doctorate (16.2%); Masters+45 (7.8%); Masters+30 (7.8%); Masters+15 (8.4%); Masters (36.3%); Bachelors (7.3%); Certificate/AAS (16.2%).


Jones College consists of 390 acres of land including all the principal buildings and playing fields for the athletic programs. The President’s home is also located on the grounds.

The Terrell Tisdale Library is a 44,000 sq. ft. building opened in January 1987. The Library collection consists of over 54,000 items, 320 E-books, and access to an education streaming video collection. The online catalog is provided by Sirsi Corp.’s Unicorn Library Management System. Computers with Internet access enable the use of online databases and indexes. The Library also houses a coffee shop.

Tuition and Fees

In-state Academic & Technical General Tuition Fee is $125 per semester credit hour. Out-of- state tuition fee is $195 per semester hour for part- time students taking under 12 hours, not to exceed $1,000; full-time tuition fee (12-19 hours) is $1,000. Out-of-state students are charged general tuition and out-of-state fees.

These expenses do not include book expense, laboratory fees, or other miscellaneous fees and expenses that may apply.

Workforce College

The Workforce College utilizes innovative approaches to career pathways to provide opportunities for its students, employees, and surrounding communities. Through the JC Outreach Centers, programs and classes are designed to offer a flexible, responsive training system that creates a multiple entry/exit career pathway that enables a participant to receive college transcribed credit for non-credit, credentialed training.
The Workforce College is composed of the following units: Adult Basic Education; MIBEST; Workforce Training; Workforce College Testing Center.

Athletics and Intramurals

A varied program in intercollegiate and intramural athletics is offered throughout the academic year to provide for competitive athletic teams and educational experiences to develop physical, social, and academic skills as well as emotional well-being. Intercollegiate athletics is under the Health, Physical Education, and Recreation Division and is an integral part of the total educational program. The JC Bobcats compete in football, basketball, baseball, soccer, softball, and tennis under guidelines established by the National Junior College Athletic Association, the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges, and the local JC Board of Trustees. JC cheerleading squad is nationally ranked. The intramural athletic program provides opportunities for students to participate in archery, basketball, table tennis, soccer, softball, tennis, volleyball, and other competitive and non-competitive activities.

Student Enrollment and Charactersitics

AY 2020 Degrees Awarded / Graduates

During the 2020 academic year, 1,385 degrees were awarded to 1,169 students. Degrees awarded are as follows: 671 (48.4%) Associate in Arts (AA) degrees awarded; 176(12.7%) Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degrees awarded; 175 (12.6%) Technical Certificates; and 363 (26.2%) Career Certificates awarded.


Seventy-one Mississippi counties (out of 82) and 19 states are represented by the Fall 2020 student body;

Top twelve counties in Mississippi contributing students in descending order are Jones, Forrest, Lamar, Wayne, Smith, Jasper, Covington, Greene, Clarke, Perry, Rankin, and Simpson;

District Residency: In-District enrollment (8 county service area) is 61.6%; Out-of- District enrollment is 30.2%; Out-of-State enrollment is 8.1%; Out-of-Country/Not Reported is <1.0%;

Average Age = 21.0 years;