Jones College wins several CPRAM Awards

ELLISVILLE – Jones College’s Marketing and Sports Information Departments received a total of six awards during the virtual, College Public Relations Association of Mississippi’s annual 2019-2020 awards program. The conference and awards banquet was canceled in May to slow the spread of COVID-19. However, because entries for the annual awards competition were already received and being judged, the awards ceremony was held virtually on Monday, August 10.

Media and Public Relations Director, Teresa McCreery earned first place honors in the News Story category for her story on the three Jones College students who won Gold Medals at the SkillsUSA competition in 2019. Sports Information Director, Shawn Wansley also took first place for his Feature Story on the Jones County FCA Christmas Party.

The Marketing Department’s Special Publication, “JCJC Foundation-Generations of Giving” received second place honors. Members of the department include Gabe Bozeman, Megan Clark, Teresa McCreery, Clint McMullan, Lisa Purdum and Finee’ Ruffin. Social Media Coordinator, Megan Clark took home third place honors for her photo at the 2019 Commencement Ceremony capturing Science Department Chair, Eric Shows “high-fiving” graduate and former department secretary, Donna Bass. Clark also received the second-place award for the Public Relations Campaign, “Jones College Foundation Day of Giving 2019.”

Additionally, Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Information, Kevin Maloney and Sheila Cline won second place in the Sports Media Guide category for, “2019Jones College Football Guide.”

A complete list of winners is available on the CPRAM website at