60 new members inducted in Jones College’s Rho Sigma Chapter-Phi Theta Kappa

Alexia Jones, Kadin Johnston, Kendall Johnson & Brice Johnson

ELLISVILLE – Sixty new members of the Rho Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Jones College were officially inducted into the two-year International Honor Society. Advisors of the honor society opened the spring induction ceremony to include any current member on campus wishing to participate in an in-person ceremony, including those that were inducted virtually in a previous semester. More than 100 members became official members this semester, however only 60 wanted to participate in the open induction ceremony, explained PTK Advisor and Dean of the College of Science and Technology, Eric Shows. More than 300 invitations were sent, and more than 100 students joined and paid dues to date.

“We are always excited to celebrate the academic achievements of our students that allow them to gain membership in PTK. The group of inductees includes students that joined this semester along with others that accepted membership in previous semesters when we were only able to offer a virtual induction ceremony because of COVID-19 restrictions. We are especially glad that all of them got to be recognized in-person, with their family and friends in attendance. All told, we will likely have over 150 new members added to our chapter this semester, which is a great testament to the hard work of our students and faculty members at Jones,” said Shows.

At the Induction Ceremony, JC’s newest PTK members heard from Dean of the Shackouls Honors College at Mississippi State University, Dr. Tommy Anderson who encouraged students to continue participating in the Honors College program at the university or college where they continue their education. Membership into PTK is reserved for freshmen with 15 hours of transferable credits completed at Jones College and are currently enrolled full-time with a cumulative GPA of 3.5.

Jones College students listed below as joining in Spring 2023 are new invitees for the current semester. Those listing Fall 2022 joined in the fall. Students listing other dates joined during COVID-19 semesters when virtual induction ceremonies were held. 

Jones College PTK Spring Induction – March 9, 2023 – Attendees             

Name                                      Hometown     Major                                     Joined

Natalie Grace Abraham       Mendenhall     Pharmacy            Spring 2023

Emily Kaye Ali        Ellisville         Health sciences              Spring 2023

Griffin Lee Bailey     Decatur           Pre-Physical Therapy        Spring 2023

Andrea Marie Booth       Sumrall           Undecided            Spring 2023

Sophia Ann Bowden        Ellisville         Accounting        Spring 2023

Brookelyn Brewer    Richton      Ultrasound Technician        Spring 2023

Davis Brown     Ellisville         Engineering             Spring 2023

Destiny Brown   Taylorsville     Business Administration        Spring 2022

Rayya  Nha Lan Cao     Petal         Law        Spring 2023

Bethany Grace Chaney Hickory  Ag. Ed. Leadership/Comm     Spring 2023

Jaylynn Sierra Conner     Waynesboro    Journalism      Spring 2023

Holly Nicole Craft      Raleigh           Kinesiology       Spring 2022

Titus Andrew Crouch      Ellisville         Nursing     Spring 2023

Bryanna Leigh Davidson        Lucedale        Art     Fall 2022

Lillian Nicole Dixon  Smithdale       Agriculture Business        Spring 2023

Katie Ann Edwards       Rose Hill         Nursing   Spring 2023

Chanel Latreece Evans      Magee      Psychology     Fall 2022

Karlye Kaye Flanagin     Brandon    Dental Hygiene       Spring 2023

Virginia Ann Fortenberry  New Hebron   Medical Sciences Spring 2022

Meg Gatlin             Summit           History          Spring 2023

Natalie Reshay Graves       Laurel             Art        Spring 2023

Jay Earl Green       Terry       Journalism     Spring 2023

Autumn Henderson   Petal      Mechanical Engineering         Fall 2021

Allen Herrington          Heidelberg      Business      Spring 2023

Gabrielle Elizabeth Hoffman Florence    Radiology    Spring 2022

Kate Holm       Hattiesburg     Architecture      Spring 2023

Casie Jane Husack        Moselle           Psychology      Spring 2023

Jha’lana Shanta Jackson         Petal      Early Childhood Education    Spring 2023

Anna Rebbecca James    Raleigh    Biological Sciences      Spring 2023

Brice Jordan Johnson    Raleigh           Art   Spring 2023

Kendall Johnson      Laurel             Biology        Spring 2023

Kadin Perry Johnston  Waynesboro    Physical Therapy         Spring 2023

Alexia Jones   Hattiesburg     Culinary Arts    Spring 2023

LaKieundria Kangar      Crystal Springs Pharmacy   Spring 2023

Julia King          Lucedale         Hospitality/Tourism Mngt.     Spring 2023

Kelsey Chyann Lawrence       Ellisville         Nursing          Spring 2023

Pablo Lopez     Waynesboro    Finance       Spring 2023

Zy’Brayla Mackey         Bay Springs    Radiology   Spring 2023

Makayla Mason       Laurel    Criminal Justice   Spring 2022

Kaitlyn Elaine Massie     Ellisville         General studies       Spring 2023

Jade Kaylen McBride    Hattiesburg     Veterinarian Medicine       Spring 2023

Aubree Brooke McMullan     Raleigh       Nursing      Spring 2023

Hilton Banks McNair      Madison     Accounting  Spring 2023

Renecia Catassia Mosley    Waynesboro    Paralegal Technology Spring 2023

J’len Noel     Pachuta    Electro-Mechanical Tech.      Fall 2022

Rebecca Danielle Parker    Laurel    Business Administration   Spring 2023

Morgan Helena Prestage   Raleigh   Nursing          Spring 2023

Sommer Janae Ramsey      Laurel   Nursing     Spring 2023

Christopher Floyd Ritz   Sumrall       Electrical Engineering       Fall 2021

Jaycee Jordan Scott    Lucedale     Psychology    Spring 2023

Kena Monique Smith   Laurel   Music Education Spring 2023

James Matthew Smith    Laurel     Coaching/Physical Ed.     Spring 2023

Skylar Lynlee Terrell    Liberty    Radiography    Spring 2023

Abbie Thrash       Laurel   Elementary Education      Fall 2022

Amaria Trotter       Laurel        Psychology   Spring 2023

Keylan Dajuan Walker     Mount Olive   Art       Spring 2023

Ashleigh Westbrook   Brandon  Psychology          Spring 2023

Sheridan White       Laurel     Journalism       Spring 2023

Laken Tori Wilson   Sandersville    Health Related Professions    Fall 2022

Jeffery Jaylen Wimbley, Jr.    Chatom, AL    Engineering  Spring 2023